Official product photo to be added with our unit.
Verdict
Still the best obstacle dodger we've run (pet-waste guarantee), but the value math has caught up with it.
- Best-in-class obstacle avoidance
- Pet-waste avoidance guarantee
- Imprint multi-robot linking
- Small bin means frequent dock trips
- Price is hard to justify vs 2026 rivals
Best for: Homes with floor-level hazards (pet waste, socks, cables).
Skip it if: Anyone optimising for value in 2026.
Sub-scores
- Cleaning
- 8.0
- Navigation
- 8.2
- Maintenance
- 8.4
- Value
- 6.8
- Noise & UX
- 8.0
ValueScore: 3.5 / 10 — value for money vs the best in this category, at an effective price of $699.99
Cleaning 40% · Navigation 20% · Maintenance 15% · Value 15% · Noise & UX 10%. How we test
Specifications
Specs marked “not disclosed” are absent from the manufacturer's materials; all printed values are verified against official documentation.
| Spec | iRobot Roomba j9+ |
|---|---|
| Price (live) | $699.99 |
| Suction | Not disclosed |
| Dock / self-empty | Clean Base auto-empty (bagged) |
| Navigation | vSLAM camera |
| Obstacle avoidance | PrecisionVision (best-in-class) |
| Warranty | 1 year |
| ValueScore | 3.5 |
| DustScore | 7.9 |
| Buy | Check price → |
Videos & independent reviews
Coverage gathered from around the web so you can check our verdict against everyone else’s. We label who published what — manufacturer videos are marketing; independent outlets received nothing from us.
Written reviews elsewhere
“The iRobot Roomba j9+ delivers reasonable performance overall in a household with multiple floor surfaces. It does a decent job on hard floors, leaving only a little fine material along wall edges and in corners.”
RTINGS“The iRobot Roomba j9+ is a user-friendly robot vacuum that justifies its high price with strong suction power, reliable obstacle avoidance, self-emptying functionality, and ample app features.”
PCMag
Videos are hosted on YouTube and we don’t control their content. “Manufacturer video” is published by iRobot’s own channel; independent reviewers are not affiliated with this site and these links earn us nothing. Review excerpts are quoted verbatim with attribution — quoting is not endorsement.
Appears on these rankings
Compare with
| Spec | iRobot Roomba j9+ | Roborock Q10 S5+ | Eureka E20 Plus | Eureka E20 Evo Plus |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Price (live) | $699.99 | $259.99 | 🎁 210 OFF at checkout | 🎁 190 OFF at checkout |
| Suction | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 8,000 Pa | 10,000 PA |
| Dock / self-empty | Clean Base auto-empty (bagged) | Auto-empty bag dock (2.5 L) | Bagless self-empty station (~45 days per empty) | Bagless self-empty station |
| Onboard dustbin | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 2 L (base station dust cup) | 2 Liters (base station) |
| Max runtime | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Up to 180 min (manufacturer-claimed max) | Up to 180 min |
| Navigation | vSLAM camera | Not disclosed | Gyroscope + DuoDetect floor sensing | Gyroscope |
| Obstacle avoidance | PrecisionVision (best-in-class) | Yes | AI 3-D obstacle avoidance | Yes (Right-Side PSD) |
| Mopping | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Flat mop pad | Mop pad included (pre-installed) |
| Mop lifting | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 10 mm | 10 mm |
| Main brush | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | V-shaped rubber roller brush | Anti-Tangle Brush Roll; Dragonclaw™ Anti-Tangle Side Brush |
| Noise | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 65 dB(A) | Not disclosed |
| Weight | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 8 kg (with Station) | Not disclosed |
| App / voice | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Yes (Eureka app; Alexa, Google Assistant, Siri) | Yes (Eureka app; Alexa, Google Assistant, Siri) |
| Warranty | 1 year | 1 year | 2 years | 2 years |
| ValueScore | 3.5 | 8.6 | 8.9 | 10.0 |
| DustScore | 7.9 | 9.1 | 8.7 | 8.7 |
| Buy | Check price → | Check price → | Check price → | Check price → |
Prices verified live at page view. Scores and verdicts © 2026 Vacuum Verified. Read our disclosure & independence policy.
VACUUM VERIFIED